Your browser (Internet Explorer 6) is out of date. It has known security flaws and may not display all features of this and other websites. Learn how to update your browser.

2013 Colorado Legislative Conservation Scorecard Released

DENVER – Conservation Colorado announced the release today of their 2013 Legislative Conservation Scorecard.  The 2013 Colorado legislature saw the passage of profound legislation that will move Colorado forward with innovative solutions to power our communities, advance clean transportation solutions and use our natural resources wisely.

“The 2013 Colorado legislature was a historic and precedent setting session for conservation issues in Colorado,” said Pete Maysmith, Executive Director, Conservation Colorado.  “Under the leadership of conservation champions such as Senate President John Morse and House Speaker Mark Ferrandino, the legislature took on issues which will add thousands of new jobs by expanding clean renewable energy to rural Colorado, assist in moving electric vehicles from the showroom floor to the road, and pursued measures to protect our communities and public health from the impacts of oil and gas while safeguarding our public lands and outdoor heritage.”

The scorecard consists of key issues and votes considered during the 2013 session on a number of conservation community priorities including expanding renewable energy, increasing the availability and ease of use for electric vehicles, and measures to protect Colorado’s wildlife and increase the efficient use and reuse of scare water supplies.

“The 2013 legislative session was tremendously successful, in response to resounding constituent concerns we stood up to promote renewable energy across Colorado, advanced clean transportation solutions, and advocated for the responsible use of our natural resources, including addressing the impacts associated with oil and gas drilling in our communities” said Senate President John Morse, “This hard work will pay dividends in future years through expanded renewable energy jobs and the protection of our recreation and tourism economies.”

The scorecard also singles out a number of representatives for strong leadership and for being steadfast conservation champions.  Additionally a select number of the 31 new members of the legislature are recognized as “rising stars” for their work on conservation legislation.

“The new members of the legislature wasted no time in rolling up their sleeves and taking on the important issues such as renewable energy and addressing the impact on communities and public health of oil and gas drilling,” continued Pete Maysmith. “We are pleased to recognize the Conservation Champions and the Rising Stars of the legislature who worked so hard to advance conservation issues and the concerns of their constituents.”

This is the 15th year the Colorado Legislative Conservation Scorecard has been released but the first under the newly merged Conservation Colorado.  A digital copy for scorecard can be access here:


2013    Scorecard quick hits



•The average score was 61%

•14 Senators had a score of 100%

•Low Scores – Bill Cadman (10%), Ted Harvey (10%), Owen Hill (10%), Kent Lambert (10%), Vicki Marble (10%), Kevin Grantham (11%), Kevin Lundberg 11%

•Senators Steve King (50%) and Ellen Roberts (50%) had the highest scores for Republicans

•The lowest scores for Democrats were Lois Tochtrop (50%), Cheri Jahn (60%), and Mary Hodge (60%)



•The average score was 66%

•33 Representatives, just over half, had a score of 100%

•Low Scores – Amy Stephens (11%), Perry Buck (20%), Kathleen Conti (20%), Brian DelGrosso (20%), Bob Gardner (20%), Polly Lawrence (20%),         Daniel Nordberg (20%), Kevin Priola (20%), Robert Rankin (20%), Lori Saine (20%), Ray Scott (20%), Jerry Sonnenberg (20%), Spencer Swalm  (20%), Mark Waller (20%), James Wilson (20%)

•Representatives Dan Coram (40%) and Cheri Gerou (40%) had the highest scores for Republicans

•The lowest scores for Democrats were Ed Vigil (70%)


Special Recognition:

•Senate leadership

o          Senate President John Morse and Majority Leader Morgan Carroll

•House leadership

o          Speaker of the House Mark Ferrandino and Majority Leader Dickey Lee Hullinghorst

•Conservation Champions

o          Senator Gail Schwartz, Senator Angela Giron, Representatives Max Tyler and Randy Fischer, Representative Crisanta Duran

•Rising Stars

o          Senator Jessie Ulibarri, Senator Matt Jones, Representative Mike Foote, Representative Diane Mitsch-Bush, Representative Leroy Garcia