Home | Contents | WHAT'S NEWS | Government | State | North Metro Rail Line Announcement

North Metro Rail Line Announcement

Font size: Decrease font Enlarge font
North Metro Rail Line Announcement

On January 22, RTD General Manager, Phil Washington, announced that RTD staff has identified another item for the FasTracks Internal Savings Account that may allow RTD to take advantage of favorable debt interest savings. Refinancing a portion of its debt could offer RTD an opportunity to build the North Metro Rail Line to 72nd in Commerce City sooner than expected. To read about the announcement follow this link.


6th Avenue Bridge Lighting Ceremony

The 6th Avenue Bridge Lighting Ceremony took place on Wednesday, January 23.  There were between 250-300 people in attendance, including RTD Board Members, staff and members of the community. 

The 6th Avenue Bridge, designed by David Evans and Associates and IBI Group, and built by Denver Transit Construction Group’s subcontractor Edward Kreamer and Sons, is lit by LED lights that are attached to the 44 cables that span the bridge.  The high efficiency lights will always remain on.

This ceremony marks the end of construction activities and signifies the start of the countdown to the grand opening of the West Rail Line on April 26.

RTD Commanders and Transit Police Assisted with Public Transit Security at Presidential Inauguration

Three members of RTD’s Security Team assisted with security in Washington, D.C. when President Barack Obama was sworn into office for his second term on January 21, 2013. 

The request for help came from the Metropolitan Area Transit Authority (WMATA) in Washington, D.C., to help provide adequate resources and personnel to manage the increase in visitors to the National Capital Region. Travel costs are were paid for by WMATA.

30th Anniversary of Elected Board

The year 2013 marks the 30th Anniversary of the RTD Elected Board.  A ballot initiative in 1980 proposed to change the governance of RTD from a 21-member appointed Board to a 15-member board to be directly elected to serve the district in which he/she resides.  The ballot initiative was approved by voters on November 4, 1980, and first elections for the RTD Board took place on November 2, 1982.  The fifteen elected Board Members were sworn in by Colorado Supreme Court Chief Justice Paul Hodges on January 3, 1983. 

The first elected Board included:

•       William D Johnson, Chairman-District M

•       Byron Johnson, Chairman Pro Tem–District E

•       Mary Duty, Secretary – District F

•       Larry Perry, Treasurer – District C

•       Jack McCroskey - District A

•       Tom Bastien - District B

•       Michael J. Garcia - District D

•       Richard Karam - District G

•       J. Bear Baker - District H

•       Bill Womack - District I

•       Kathi Williams - District J

•       E.E. “Casey” Hayes – District K

•       Donald Feland – District L

•       William Rourke – District N

•       Roger Cracraft – District O

RTD was created by the Colorado General Assembly in 1969 to plan and operate mass transit in the Denver Metropolitan Region.  The RTD was originally governed by a 21- member Board of Directors with directors appointed by local governments.  Ten of the directors were appointed by the Mayor of Denver and ratified by the Denver City Council. Two members each were appointed by the counties of Adams, Arapahoe, Boulder and Jefferson and one member from Douglas and Weld Counties.  The final member served at-large and was elected by other members of the RTD Board.  The sales tax supporting RTD was passed by voters of the RTD District in 1973.

  • email Email to a friend
  • print Print version
  • Plain text Plain text
Tagged as:
No tags for this article
Rate this article